Travel Guide

Travel Guide

Beaches, Cities & Sights in Cuba

The Cuban archipelago extends over an area of about 1200 km with about three times the coastline length. While the north coast is often rocky, the south coast is flatter and partly marshy. But, don't worry: Both coasts have a variety of beautiful sandy beaches!

The administrative territory of Cuba is divided into 15 provinces, which are administered from provincial capitals. According to their geographical location, five provinces can be categorized into the three regions of Western, Central and Eastern Cuba, whereby each region has a unique character.

Cuba in a nutshell:
Population: 11 mio
Capital: Havana
Language: Spanish
National holiday: January 1st
Currency: Peso Cubano
Population: 65% European
Compulsory education: 9 years
National tree: royal palm (palma real)
National bird: red-blue-white tocororo (trogons)
Tourists: >4 million (2019)


While most visitors stay in the western part, mainly to visit Havana and Varadero, all regions have an own mountain range and a variety of interesting tourist attractions to offer.


The west of the island includes the provinces of Pinar del Rio, Artemisa, Mayabque,  Matanzas and the famous capital Havana.


The vibrant Capital »Havana«
The Finest Caribbean Beaches at »Varadero«
Nature Paradises »Viñales« & »Las Terrazas«

The center of the Cuban archipelago is formed by the provinces of Cienfuegos, Villa Clara, Sancti Spíritus, Ciego de Ávila and Camagüey.


World Cultural Heritage Sites »Trinidad« & »Cienfuegos«

The eastern part of the island includes the provinces of Las Tunas, Holguín, Granma,  Guantánamo and Santiago de Cuba.


Revolutionary City »Santiago de Cuba«


you're currently offline